When nothing goes right, and the future’s dark as night…

Today has undoubtedly been the worst day so far. Not for any particular reason, I hasten to add. It’s just been rubbish. In fact, this entire week has been pretty awful. Again, nothing in particular. My mood and motivation is at an all time low.

Maybe it’s because I was woken up at 5:45 on the morning of the half marathon because we’d just been burgled, and they’d taken my favourite jacket, amongst many other things. Maybe it’s because my knees weren’t really ready to run 21km in one go, and they’ve been hurting all week. Maybe it’s because I’d forgotten how boring writing reports can be, and how frustrated one can get if one wrestles with LaTeX formatting and references all day. Maybe it’s because I had the noisy, painful kind of hiccups for an hour today. Maybe it’s because I spent 20 minutes wandering around the supermarket, unable to decide what to have for dinner. Maybe it’s because despite perhaps giving off an air of direction and foresight, I still have absolutely no idea who I am, what I’m doing, or where I’m going. Maybe I didn’t spend enough time digging holes in France. Maybe I’m just upset because I can’t squeeze enough ‘maybe’s into this blog post.

Or maybe, just maybe, there’s nothing wrong at all. Maybe I just woke up on the wrong side of the bed four days in a row. Maybe, and most terrifying of all, this is simply what real ‘real’ life is like, and it doesn’t get any better… Surely not?

And I know you can’t have good days without the bad, I know that. So I’m just hoping that after 4 definitively bad days, maybe tomorrow might be better. Maybe?

‘Maybe’ count: 16 [edit]

3 thoughts on “When nothing goes right, and the future’s dark as night…

  1. Well, you at least get bonus points for including the ‘maybe’ of “‘Maybe’ count: 14” in the total. I salute you! And yes, I counted. I’m no better…

Leave a Reply

